Secretary Naig Honors Liljedahl Farms with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

01-26-2023 in Good Farm Neighbor

DES MOINES, Iowa (Jan. 25, 2023) – Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig presented the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award to the Liljedahl family during a ceremony today at the Iowa Pork Congress in Des Moines. Owned and operated by Dennis and Diane Liljedahl, along with their son, Drew, and daughter-in-law, Candice, Liljedahl Farms is a third-generation family farm located near Essex in Page County.

The farm was established by Dennis’ parents Charles and Eileen Liljedahl in 1958, with Dennis returning to the farm in 1975 and Drew joining the operation in 2006. Dennis and Diane’s daughter Abbey was raised on the farm but has since moved away with her husband Justin. Dennis and Diane have four grandchildren.

“Multi-generational farm families like the Liljedahls are at the heart of so many of our communities across Iowa. They have a family tradition of being good stewards of their land and excellent caretakers of their livestock,” said Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig. “The Liljedahls are also leaders in their community and within Iowa agriculture and I am pleased to present them with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor award.”

The Liljedahls raise corn, soybeans, seed soybeans and 2,500 – 3,000 wean-to-finish hogs annually.

The family has implemented numerous conservation practices, including the utilization of no-till planting and the seeding of 1,000 acres of cereal rye as a cover crop each year for the past four years. They have installed terraces, grassed waterways, grassed buffer strips and pollinator habitat on their land, and they participate in the Conservation Stewardship Program.

The Liljedahls have demonstrated a high level of care for their animals and take pride in ensuring consumers can have access to nutritious and delicious pork products. The operation has received the Pork Quality Assurance certification and Transport Quality Assurance certification, and it has implemented an active Secure Pork Supply Plan.

Dennis is the past president of the Iowa Pork Producers Association and has served on the board since 2016. He is a delegate for the National Pork Forum, a member of Page County Pork Producers Association, a 1994 Master Pork Producer, and a former assistant swine superintendent for the Page County Fair. He serves as a member of the Essex Education Foundation, Essex School Board, and St. John’s Lutheran Church, where he is also treasurer. Diane serves as chair for the St. John’s Lutheran Church Council, chair of the committee to restore the Essex Opera House and is active with the Page County Endowment.

Drew is a member of the Page and Fremont County Corn and Soybean Growers Associations as well as the Page County Extension and Outreach Council. Candice is active with the Essex Community Club as well as the Study and Service Club. The Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award is made possible through a partnership with the Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers (CSIF), The Big Show on WHO Radio and the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship. This award recognizes Iowa livestock farmers who take pride in caring for the environment, their livestock and being good neighbors. It is named in memory of Gary Wergin, a long-time WHO Radio farm broadcaster who helped create the award.



About the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

Led by Secretary Mike Naig, the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship serves the rural and urban residents that call Iowa home. Through its 14 diverse bureaus, the Department ensures animal health, food safety and consumer protection. It also promotes conservation efforts to preserve our land and enhance water quality for the next generation. Learn more at

Recommended News

Untitled design (1)
Dedicated long-time CSIF employee and family farmer remembered for his contributions to Iowa agriculture

DES MOINES, Iowa (June 19, 2024) – Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig will honor the late Kent Mowrer with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award during an event at the Boone...

Read More
Multi-generational Palo Alto County farm family shows dedication to their community while demonstrating good stewardship of their land and cattle

Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig honored the Streit Family from Palo Alto County with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award during an event at the family’s farm near West...

Read More
First generation Poweshiek County farm family is dedicated to their community, livestock and land

DES MOINES, Iowa (May 30, 2024) – Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig will present the Boelen Family from Poweshiek County with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award during an event...

Read More