Plowman Family Receives Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

06-08-2018 in Awards

WEST DES MOINES, IOWA – June 8, 2018 – Rick and Lisa Plowman and family were honored with the 136th Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award on Tuesday, June 5, 2018, at their farm in Douds, Iowa. Over 160 friends, family members and industry representatives were in attendance to show support and appreciation for the family.

Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig presented the award sponsored by the Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers (CSIF), the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and WHO and WMT radio stations.

Family friend and neighbor, Jennifer Gardner nominated the Plowman family for the award. “Plowman’s have taken great care in making sure their operation is sound when it comes to conservation and exceeding DNR requirements,” says Gardner, “they implement the best management practices for manure and pasture management while being diligent to protect the land from run-off and erosion.”

The Plowman’s environmental stewardship, animal husbandry practices and community involvement were highlighted at the award ceremony. “Being a good neighbor is communication. It is your land, but when you talk to the person next to you and give them a heads up on what you’re doing and your needs and wants, it’s easier to work together before the fact than after,” says son Cale Plowman who works with his dad full time as the fifth generation on their family farm.

The Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award, presented by the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship and Iowa Ag Radio Network in partnership with CSIF, is awarded to Iowa farm families who raise livestock, and are good neighbors and stewards of the land. The award is given in honor of distinguished late WHO radio farm broadcaster, Gary Wergin.

To nominate a deserving livestock farmer or farm family, visit or contact Megyn Walston at (515) 225-5515 or at

The Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers was created more than 10 years ago by farmers to help farmers raise livestock responsibly and successfully. It’s a partnership involving the Iowa Beef Industry Council, Iowa Cattlemen’s Association, Iowa Corn Growers Association, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, Iowa Pork Producers Association, Iowa Poultry Association, Iowa Soybean Association, Iowa Turkey Federation and Midwest Dairy Association.


Recommended News

Secretary Naig Honors Liljedahl Farms with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

Page County pork producer recognized for outstanding community leadership

Read More
Secretary Naig to Honor Jo-Lane Dairy with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

Clayton County farm family to be recognized on September 15

Read More
Secretary Naig to Honor Cronin Farms with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

Multi-generational Cherokee County family farm to be recognized on September 6

Read More