Carlson Family Receives Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

09-12-2018 in Awards

WEST DES MOINES, IOWA – September 12, 2018 – Jim and Jennifer Carlson and family were honored with the 139thWergin Good Farm Neighbor Award on Friday, August 31, 2018, at the Heartland Bank in Gowrie, Iowa. Over 100 friends, family members and industry representatives were in attendance to show support and appreciation for the family.

Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig presented the award sponsored by the Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers (CSIF), the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and WHO and WMT radio stations.

Family friend and veterinarian, Richard Hubbard, nominated the Carlson family for the award. When asked why he nominated the family he replied, “Their dedication to the community and the neatness of their operation. They care about the way they do things and pay attention to detail.”

The Carlson’s environmental stewardship, animal husbandry practices and community involvement were highlighted at the award ceremony. “We don’t feel we do anything special, we get up and do what we did when we were watching our parents growing up. That’s just who we are,” says Jim Carlson, “The main thing is that we surround ourselves with a lot of special people. It’s easy to be a good neighbor when you’re surrounded with good people.”

The Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award, presented by the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship and Iowa Ag Radio Network in partnership with CSIF, is awarded to Iowa farm families who raise livestock, and are good neighbors and stewards of the land. The award is given in honor of distinguished late WHO radio farm broadcaster, Gary Wergin.

To nominate a deserving livestock farmer or farm family, visit or contact Megyn Walston at (515) 225-5515 or at

The Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers was created more than 10 years ago by farmers to help farmers raise livestock responsibly and successfully. It’s a partnership involving the Iowa Beef Industry Council, Iowa Cattlemen’s Association, Iowa Corn Growers Association, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, Iowa Pork Producers Association, Iowa Poultry Association, Iowa

Soybean Association, Iowa Turkey Federation and Midwest Dairy Association.


Recommended News

Secretary Naig to Honor Jo-Lane Dairy with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

Clayton County farm family to be recognized on September 15

Read More
Secretary Naig to Honor Cronin Farms with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

Multi-generational Cherokee County family farm to be recognized on September 6

Read More
Secretary Naig to Honor Martin Family with Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

Linn County crop and cattle farmers to be recognized for outstanding leadership in agriculture.

Read More