Brenneman Family Receives Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

05-18-2018 in Awards

WEST DES MOINES, IOWA – May 18, 2018 – Rob and Char Brenneman and family were honored with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award on Friday, May 4, 2018, at their farm in Washington, Iowa. Nearly 250 friends, family members and industry representatives were in attendance, making it one of our largest events to date. Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig presented the award sponsored by the Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers (CSIF), the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and WHO and WMT radio stations.

Neighbors Kurt and Heather Hora nominated the Brenneman family for the award. “All one has to do is drive around any of Rob and Char’s farms and they are always pristine,” said the Hora’s. “They believe in being hands-on and leaving things better than they found them.”

The Brenneman’s environmental stewardship, animal husbandry practices and community involvement were highlighted at the award ceremony. Upon accepting the award, Rob Brenneman shared with attendees that the award goes to the entire family. “It’s an honor to work with your kids,” said Brenneman. “Family is very special.”

The family stays heavily involved in the community, which was evident by the over 200 guests who came to show their support. The event was catered by a local grocery with family and farm employees grilling home-raised Brenneman pork chops.

The Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award, presented by the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship and Iowa Ag Radio Network in partnership with CSIF, is awarded to Iowa farm families who raise livestock, and are good neighbors and stewards of the land. The award is given in honor of distinguished late WHO radio farm broadcaster, Gary Wergin.

To nominate a deserving livestock farmer or farm family, visit or contact Gabby Glenister at 515-225-5526 or

The Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers was created more than 10 years ago by farmers to help farmers raise livestock responsibly and successfully. It’s a partnership involving the Iowa Beef Industry Council, Iowa Cattlemen’s Association, Iowa Corn Growers Association, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, Iowa Pork Producers Association, Iowa Poultry Association, Iowa Soybean Association, Iowa Turkey Federation and Midwest Dairy Association.


Recommended News

Secretary Naig to Honor Jo-Lane Dairy with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

Clayton County farm family to be recognized on September 15

Read More
Secretary Naig to Honor Cronin Farms with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

Multi-generational Cherokee County family farm to be recognized on September 6

Read More
Secretary Naig to Honor Martin Family with Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

Linn County crop and cattle farmers to be recognized for outstanding leadership in agriculture.

Read More