Huhe Family Receives Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

05-31-2018 in Awards

WEST DES MOINES, IOWA – May 31, 2018 – Tim and Diana Huhe and family were honored with the 135th Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award on Wednesday, May 30, 2018, at the Featherlite Center at the Howard County Fairgrounds. Nearly 100 friends, family members and industry representatives were in attendance to show support and appreciation for the family.

Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig presented the award sponsored by the Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers (CSIF), the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and WHO and WMT radio stations.

Family friend Mariah Schmitt nominated the Huhe family for the award. “Combine the words dairy and leadership and you get Tim Huhe,” says Schmitt. “Tim’s diversified agriculture background and bright personality make him the ideal advocate for agriculture and role model for all Iowa farmers.”

The Huhe’s environmental stewardship, animal husbandry practices and community involvement were highlighted at the award ceremony. Upon accepting the award, Tim Huhe shared with

attendees that the award isn’t personal, it goes to everyone who has worked to make his operation what it is today. “No matter where you’re at and what you’re involved in, it takes a group effort to make anything successful,” says Huhe.

The Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award, presented by the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship and Iowa Ag Radio Network in partnership with CSIF, is awarded to Iowa farm families who raise livestock, and are good neighbors and stewards of the land. The award is given in honor of distinguished late WHO radio farm broadcaster, Gary Wergin.

To nominate a deserving livestock farmer or farm family, visit or contact Megyn Walston at (515) 225-5515 or at

The Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers was created more than 10 years ago by farmers to help farmers raise livestock responsibly and successfully. It’s a partnership involving the Iowa Beef Industry Council, Iowa Cattlemen’s Association, Iowa Corn Growers Association, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, Iowa Pork Producers Association, Iowa Poultry Association, Iowa

Soybean Association, Iowa Turkey Federation and Midwest Dairy Association.


Recommended News

Secretary Naig Honors Max Schmidt with the Wergin Good Farm Neighbor Award

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Keely Coppess 515-281-3375 or 515-326-1616 (cell) Max Schmidt, pork producer from Howard County, will be honored at the 2020 Iowa Pork Congress DES MOINES, Iowa...

Read More
Good Farm Neighbor Award Nominations Open

Do you know farmers who go above and beyond to be excellent producers, neighbors, and stewards of the land? The Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers (CSIF), in partnership with WHO...

Read More
Who ya gonna call?

  WEST DES MOINES, IOWA – September 24, 2019 – “I don’t know anyone who doesn’t want to leave their farm in better shape than they found it,” says Scott...

Read More